AESOP ROCK - Garbology [2021] 2LPs, colored vinyl NEW

  • Sale
  • Regular price $28.98

Released: November 12, 2021

Garbology came together over the course of the pandemic, as well as in the midst of Aesop processing the loss of a close friend in January of 2020, resulting in a period of feeling uncreative. Looking back on that time that feels both like yesterday and forever-ago, Aesop recalls, "The world got real weird during those months. I knew at some point I had to get back to making something. Make a beat. Draw a picture. Write. Just go. But the idea of making a beat felt like math homework, and drawing is just so hard. Writing is hard too, but at some point I had to pick one." 

As for the album title, Aesop explains, "Garbology is defined as the study of the material discarded by a society to learn what it reveals about social or cultural patterns. I find a lot of parallels between that and the idea of picking up the pieces after a loss or period of intense unrest, and seeing what's really there. It's information that speaks to who I am, who we are, and how we move forward. Furthermore - the idea of digging through old, often neglected music from another time with an ear tuned for taking in that data in a different way than your average listener would is exactly what Tony does. Go through the information and see what you find."

  • - Side 1 -
  • 1 The Only Picture
  • 2 Jazz Hands
  • 3 Wolf Piss
  • 4 Legerdemain
  • 5 Difficult
  • 6 All the Smartest People
  • 7 Oh Fudge
  • 8 More Cycles
  • - Side 2 -
  • 1 Flamingo Pink
  • 2 All Day Breakfast (Feat. Homeboy Sandman)
  • 3 Fizz
  • 4 The Is Not a Wizard
  • 5 The Sea
  • 6 Abandoned Malls